CONCERNED WOMEN FOR AMERICA Legislative Action Committee

  • Connect with CWA:

Stay Connected with CWA

As a subscriber to our E-Alerts, you'll be among the first to receive insider briefings, news, and information on the issues that matter most to you and your family. Our emails are concise yet filled with the resources you need to impact public policy in Washington, at your state capitol, or in your own community. Our E-Alerts will equip you to educate, persuade, and motivate others to action. Don't delay! Enroll today!



GET ACTION ALERTS

Bring North Carolina’s HB 695, Family, Faith and Freedom Protection Act, to Victory!

Bring North Carolina’s HB 695, Family, Faith and Freedom Protection Act, to Victory!
By: CWALAC Staff - 7/8/2013

Let your state representative and Gov. Pat McCrory know that you support HB 695 Family, Faith and Freedom Protection Act of 2013!

Your presence at the legislature, your prayers, your phone calls and e-mails are urgently needed to pass HB 695 into law!

HB 695′s primary author, Rep. Chris Whitmire, stated, “When a violation occurs, it most often impacts women. HB 695 makes provisions to protect fundamental Constitutional rights, especially those of women.”

Originally a measure regarding the application of foreign law in state courts, HB 695, passed the House by a vote of 69 to 42 on May 16. It was then amended in the Senate and passed the Senate to include pro-life and pro-family provisions by a vote of 29 to 12 on July 3.

HB 695 will be heard in the House Health and Human Services Committee on Tuesday morning, July 9. If passed through Committee, it will go for a vote before the House the same afternoon. Then it will be sent to the Governor for his signature.

Click here to read HB 695 Family, Faith and Freedom Protection Act bill and stay updated on its status.

Do all you can do to support pro-life and pro-Constitutional rights in North Carolina!

If your Senator supported HB 695, please be sure to contact him/her and thank them for courageously standing in support of HB 695, Family, Faith and Freedom Protection Act, with a special thanks to the presenters on the Senate Floor including Sens. Warren Daniel, Ralph Hise, Thom Goolsby, Kathy Harrington, Buck Newton and Shirley Randleman.

The following voted in favor of HB 695:

Austin.Allran@ncleg.net, Tom.Apodaca@ncleg.net, Chad.Barefoot@ncleg.net, Phil.Berger@ncleg.net, Stan.Bingham@ncleg.net, Andrew.Brock@ncleg.net, Andrew.Brock@ncleg.net, Harry.Brown@ncleg.net, Peter.Brunstetter@ncleg.net, Bill.Cook@ncleg.net, David.Curtis@ncleg.net, Warren.Daniel@ncleg.net, Jim.Davis@ncleg.net, Thom.Goolsby@ncleg.net, Rick.Gunn@ncleg.net, Kathy.Harrington@ncleg.net, Ralph.Hise@ncleg.net, Neal.Hunt@ncleg.net, Brent.Jackson@ncleg.net, Wesley.Meredith@ncleg.net, Buck.Newton@ncleg.net, Louis.Pate@ncleg.net, Ron.Rabin@ncleg.net, Shirley.Randleman@ncleg.net, Norman.Sanderson@ncleg.net, Dan.Soucek@ncleg.net, Jeff.Tarte@ncleg.net, Jerry.Tillman@ncleg.net, Tommy.Tucker@ncleg.net, Trudy.Wade@ncleg.net.

This is an historic moment in North Carolina’s history. Do not miss out in playing a key role in its outcome! You are needed!

Pray that HB 695 Faith, Family and Freedom Protection Act will pass the Committee to the House for concurrence. Pray the House will pass HB 695, and that the Governor will sign HB 695 into law.

Your prayers and actions will make a difference for the principles of freedom ensuring that pro-life legislation and constitutional rights legislation is maintained in the courts of North Carolina, the shining light on the hill.

Get involved with CWA of North Carolina. View our website at nc.cwfa.org.

Serving God, Family and Country!

Sheri Miller
State Director
Concerned Women for America of North Carolina
704-542-6984
director@northcarolina.cwfa.org

NOTE: Here is a brief summary of what is included in HB 695, Family, Faith and Freedom Protection Act:

It prohibits the use of foreign law, such as Sharia law, from being applied in family court actions in North Carolina, if such action violates a person’s fundamental constitutional rights.

It expands conscience rights for people in the medical field who have moral or religious objections to participating in any procedure that may lead to an abortion.

It prohibits coverage for abortion in health plans offered through health care exchanges under “ObamaCare,” albeit the usual provisions for rape and incest or the life of the mother.

It prohibits city and county governments from providing abortion coverage beyond what is provided by the State Health Plan for Teachers and State Employees.

It bars sex-selective abortions abortions performed simply because of the unborn child’s gender.

It requires that any time a surgical or chemical abortion is performed the doctor must be physically present for the full procedure.

To prevent Gosnell type violations in abortion clinics, the bill mandates that the North Carolina Department of Health and Human Services produce regulations that ensure such clinics are similar to surgical ambulatory centers.

Print Friendly

Petition to President Obama to Stand With Israel

Stand with us to protect the American family

Give Now

Young Women for America

ywa sidebar
YWA is a student-oriented initiative that is geared toward high school and college campuses to bring active groups of young like-minded women together to promote conservative values to their schools and the nation.

Learn More